Lots of Stuff Going On

November 29, 2008

img_1650Well, lots of stuff going on at least to me. I don’t know about the rest of you. I haven’t posted for awhile so here’s the round up.

Last weekend my Grandma Kirkham passed away. It was a hard thing, but she had put up a good fight and it was a relief to see her finally at peace. It had been a little over a year that we found out she had a brain tumor. She was 76. She was such a strong person and such a fighter. It was hard to see her at the end not in her own home, but in a rest home and not being able to take care of herself. I’m sure she just hated that! Grandma was always so adamant about her house being clean, and the same way about herself. She was always dressed up and never went anywhere without looking nice. I am going to miss her a lot! I have so many fond memories of Grandma, and she was very close to our family. I spent a ton of time there growing up especially with my Aunt Becky and I being the same age and always spending time together at their house. We had great trips and camping trips and family dinners, and just a lot of things.

I just hate that the older you get the more people that you love are gone. I just really sucks!

Anyway…. let’s just say 2008 has been a difficult year… but at the same time I feel like I’ve grown with all the trials and difficulties. I feel like I’ve come away with greater faith than I had before. It just makes you think about what’s really important in life. In the end you leave everything behind and don’t take anything with you but the love of your family. Both Dave’s mom and my grandma were such great women and such great examples. With them passing away I’ve thought a lot of about what you leave behind, and have been asking myself the question about what I hope I would leave behind. Now there’s some food for thought! And something I’m thankful for this Thanksgiving along with my own little family!

One Response to “Lots of Stuff Going On”

  1. novice101 Says:

    Yes, that reminds us that nothing is permanent. But as long as we don’t hurt each other, as long as we enjoying the relationships, it’s okay.


Leave a Reply

