Potato Salad

February 5, 2009

I made potato salad for the Superbowl on Sunday.  Dave said I had to make it just like his mom’s.  Well, of course!  At least almost like it.  I like dill pickles so I have to add a few of those in.  Anyway as I was making potato salad I found myself standing in the kitchen of the old house (the one next door to the new house) with the dark brown cabinets and the yellowish counter top.  She was standing next to me giving me directions about making the salad.  She always used Miracle Whip instead of mayo, sweet pickles, a little mustard, lots of salt and onions as always, and then mashing everything together to give it a smooth creamy texture.  I know I will never make potato salad without thinking of her.  It’s funny what kinds of things link to memories we have; what simple tasks stir up little pictures tucked away in the back of our minds.  It didn’t make me sad necessarily, but grateful that she taught me how to make her potato salad.  It was comforting to know that I can bring up that little memory whenever I make it.

2 Responses to “Potato Salad”

  1. Bridgett Says:

    That was a great memory. Thanks for sharing. I can totally picture Lana in this story. She is such a wonderful person!!

  2. Cozette Says:

    I find that happening to me alot too, and I didn’t know her for nearly as long as you did. Today Luke was helping me ice cupcakes for a baby shower. He went and bought some frosting for me and also grabbed some sprinkels. He said, “Mom would have added some pazazz to these cupcakes.” He was totally right, it reminded how Lana made everything some fun. I am glad that she has passed that attitude on to her kids. It makes me miss her, but mostly, as you said just very grateful that she was part of my life!


Leave a Reply

