Recent Books Read

July 28, 2009

In spite of the crazy summer I have managed to get a few books read. Mostly during the times (4 weekends in a row) that we have been camping. It’s been nice to sit and relax and read, but then very distracting at home when I have tons of stuff to do and I’d rather sit on the couch and read. It’s always been a battle for me – read a book, or do the dishes….mmmmm….the dishes will still be there right?

Here are a couple of the books I have read. I received Olive Kitteridge through Goodreads First Read program which was cool. I actually won another to read and review and it is on it’s way. There are just so many books and too little time. Someone needs to create a job for me somehow as a professional book reader :)!Olive Kitteridge: A Novel in Stories

Olive Kitteridge: A Novel in Stories by Elizabeth Strout

 

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I have mixed feelings about this book. I loved the simple direct prose and how it was written. I liked the concept of each chapter being a short story that was linked to Olive. Sometimes the stories weren’t really related to her but only to the town somehow.

However, I thought the book was sad and somewhat dark at times. When I finished I was wondering if I would feel that sad, unsatisfied, and regretful of my life. I found myself not wanting to be like Olive and some other other characters with a new resolve to be happy and appreciate what I have now. It was to me a story of unreached potential and what the characters could have done with their lives and relationships but didn’t.

I didn’t love the book, but it was definately thought provoking which is maybe what the author intended.

View all my reviews >>

Here is another great young adult book that I read in a day.
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, #1) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed this book. It was fast paced and had a good story and characters. I really liked Katniss and her personality. I can’t wait to read the next one.

View all my reviews >>

One Response to “Recent Books Read”

  1. Megan Says:

    Thanks for the post! I am always looking for new books to read, but I am leery of just picking one up without a recommendation.


Leave a Reply

