20 Year Class Reunion & Thoughts on “Becoming”

September 23, 2009

SF Class of '89 - 2009

SF Class of '89 - 2009

Dave and I had our 20 year class reunion this summer.  It was fun to see the people that came.  I wish there would have been more come.  What is it about class reunions that either excite people to see old classmates again, or fill them with dread to even think about high school again.  Then there are those who I think just aren’t really interested.  I have some of these same mixed emotions myself.  I do know that you couldn’t pay me enough to go back to high school again.  Not that I had terrible experiences looking back.  It’s just that whole coming of age thing, and trying to figure out who you are and where you fit it.  Just all the drama that now seems so silly, yet you still remember it.  And some of it still hurts, or is embarassing, or makes you laugh, or makes you angry.  It doesn’t really matter anymore, but some of those experiences and feelings are so ingrained in you that it’s hard to let some of them go. 

It’s really hard to believe it’s been 20 years.  I find myself staring forward at one of the decade birthdays to come and wondering how the heck that happened!  I remember my Grandma Kirkham once talking to me about getting old and how she said inside she always felt like she just stayed 25 even though her body aged.  I kind of feel the same way.  It’s like your body and time keeps moving on but inside you don’t necessarily feel older.  I look at the past 20 years and wonder what’s to come.  There have been great, wonderful, awful, sad experiences and I wonder what more I’ll be blessed with, but also what I might have to endure. 

On my friends blog she had a post the other day that referenced a talk by Elder Dallin H. Oaks (here) that talked about becoming.  “The Apostle Paul taught that the Lord’s teachings and teachers were given that we may all attain “the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ” (Eph. 4:13). This process requires far more than acquiring knowledge. It is not even enough for us to be convinced of the gospel; we must act and think so that we are converted by it. In contrast to the institutions of the world, which teach us to know something, the gospel of Jesus Christ challenges us to becomesomething.”  This talked really hit home for me with this idea of “becoming”.  I really needed to hear some of the things from this talk.  (A big thanks to Tanyss for leading me to it!)

Leave a Reply

