All My Intentions & Some Good Books

January 21, 2010

It’s a new year, a new decade.  You’d think I’d come up with some good resolutions or something wouldn’t you?  Like being a better blogger who actually posts once a week.  I am always thinking of stuff to post, but then I procrastinate.  Procrastination….I am an expert at that!  If I could change one thing about myself it would be that.  Getting rid of that alone would move me forward to meeting a lot of my goals, dreams, ideas, unfinished projects, losing weight, etc., etc.  I always have such good intentions, but then that procrastination thing ruins them.  I am always feeling like I live my life half finished all the time!   I remember telling Dave’s mom once that I do a lot of things, but I don’t do any of them really well.  I’m not sure if I’m just lazy or a perfectionist who knows it won’t be perfect so I get discouraged before I even try.  Hmmmm…. maybe a little of both :). 

Anyway, here’s a couple of books that I finished reading.  Feels good to say that “finished”.  See I do finish some things!  Although it’s taking me longer to read books as I just have to snatch a minute or two here and there.  And I have this annoying habit of reading more than one book at a time.  Here’s a couple I have actually finished:

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Loved this book! Charming, witty, funny, and I loved the way it is written as letters back and forth between different characters.  Takes place just after WWII and the German occupation of the island of Guernsey off the coast of England.  A fictional story with a historical fiction setting.

View all my reviews >>

My Antonia (Bantam Classic) My Antonia by Willa Cather
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I think what I loved most about this book was the lovely descriptions of nature and the awareness of the main character. I also liked the whole growing up story of Jim and his recollections and memories of things later in life as he looks back to tell the story.

View all my reviews >>

I’ve also been listening to some books on tape in the car driving to work. I sure does help the time pass faster. There are actually quite a few free ones if they are public domain books. Right now I am listening to Charles Dickens Great Expectations. My awesome hubby got me a FM transmitter that works with my Blackberry and my Ipod so I can listen to either one. So cool!

Just a quick little update. I’ll be posting more soon about our Christmas and other things we have going on.

Leave a Reply

